Simon Kuipers Schaatser

Simon Kuipers, a Dutch speed skater who is mainly specialized in the 1500 metres, King Number embedded in long track Speedskating. He was two times Dutch champion distance and won the bronze medal in 2010 with the Dutch team pursuit. In this article, you can read more about Simon Kuipers


Simon Peter Kuipers was born in Haarlem, which in addition to a talented skater also writes regularly in the Spits on 9 August 1982. Kuipers dawned slowly but surely in the Dutch ice skating and it took several years before he was expelled the Knights in the international top.


Kuipers debuted in 2002 at the national championships and national championships Allround distance, but he was once looking at Junior Worlds, but there was no break the pots. On his first 500 metres at the National Championships, he was 18, at the National Championships Allround he was handsome 8th.Afterwards, however, he would never take part in big tournaments and round he focused on the three shortest distances, where he primarily performed on 1000 and 1500 metres.
It took several years before he won prizes. He knew in 2005 to deal with the bronze medal at the National Championships in both 1000 and 1500 metres and finished the year in 6th place in the final standings in the 1500 metres from the football World Cup. A year later he managed to make much of an impression, but he qualified it for the 500 and 1500 meters at the Turin Olympics, when he was 23 and 4 respectively.
Since 2007, Kuipers always won medals at SM distances, with double gold in 2008 as a highlight. In addition, in 2009, he managed to win bronze at WORLD CUP Sprint CHAMPIONSHIP and he took 2nd place in the 1500 metres standings in the World Cup in 2008. During the Olympic Games in Vancouver, he made at least three individual distances and join the team pursuit. He was the 20th respectively 6th and 7: ai the individual distances and won the bronze medal in the team pursuit, his first Olympic medal.

Personal records

*: Updated until the start of the 2010-2011 schaatseizoen


  • 2004-2006: Postcodeloterij
  • 2006-2009: DSB
  • 2009-2010: Control
  • 2010-present: TVM


*: Updated until the start of the 2010-2011 schaatseizoen